“Searching”

Lately I have felt I am in a season of uncertainty and stillness. So many things are going on with me both internally and externally, that I sometimes I don’t know which way is up. I have a constant struggleof trying to figure out what’s right, what’s wrong, what’s okay, what’s acceptable, etc. Yes, Christians struggle too. Previous times when I have been in this space, I find myself just searching. I’m searching for answers to questions that I may have. I’m searching for clarity on how to respond and navigate adversity and trials that may come in my life. One-day last week I even went as far as to thinking I may have some type of illness that should be diagnosed. I began thinking to myself, “Do I have anxiety? Am I under stress to the point where I need to be treated by a professional? Do I have an eating disorder? Is my body reacting to the thoughts that I’m thinking in my mind?” These thoughts came to my mind and my first reaction was, “Okay let’s go to Google and try to see if the symptoms that you’re having can help you come up with an explanation.” This is where the praise break comes in.

Immediately after having these thoughts I realized there was NO NEED to run to Google. I began to speak sensibly to myself. The conversation I had with myself went something like this: You don’t need to go to a search engine so the search engine can diagnose you. You don’t need a search engine to give you answers on how to navigate a demanding situation. You don’t need a search engine to help you understand adversity. You don’t need a search engine to understand trials. You don’t need a search engine to have your questions answered. You know exactly where you need to go to seek the wisdom, clarity and understanding to live in this life…God’s Word. The Word of God is very clear. There will be trials there will be tribulations. There will be adversity. We will run into people who don’t have our best interest at heart. We will run into people who have authority over us on this Earth (i.e. in the workplace) but they don’t have ultimate authority over you. Jesus Christ is the ultimate Authority. When you give people so much power that it cause you to become timid and fearful, God is not happy.

God let’s us know there will be trials and tribulations in this life. We know we will run into people who don’t necessarily have our best interests at heart. We know that we will encounter people who are in a leadership position over us, but we must remember that even though they lead us they are NOT our ultimate authority. Jesus Christ is the ultimate authority in any situation. People often think their position in one area of your life reigns over everything…WRONG! If we allow the people of “this world” to place us in bondage, they will; but thank God that Jesus came to die for me. Thank God for the instruction manual for life that I can go to and help myself through any situation. The Word says fearing people is a dangerous trap but trusting the Lord means safety (Proverbs 29:25). I thank God that I have a safe place I can always go to. I thank God that I can cast my cares on Jesus Christ and know that he will carry my burdens (Matthew 11:28). I thank God that I don’t have to succumb to what the world tells me I am. I thank God that I don’t have to wonder whether I can “handle it” or whether I can do something. I’m so thankful that the grace of Jesus is sufficient whenever I am weak (2 Corinthians 12:9). I am so thankful the Word of God constantly resurfaces in my mind anytime I have the battle going on. I am so thankful that I not only read the Word of God, but I meditate on the Word of God. I make it a point to truly understand what the Word is telling me and what lessons are there for me to learn. When I’m in a situation or space where I feel anxious or overwhelmed, I am always amazed with how scripture comes to mind and completely alleviates any doubt or irrational concern. God’s Word gives me the peace that surpasses all understanding (Philippians 4:7) I am so glad that I don’t have to search this world for the answer.  The answer is Jesus!

IMG_1113

Leave a Reply

